Pritha's pomes

Some rhyme, romance and a wee bit reason maybe, bear with me ?

Of democracy and a 10 year old …

Leave a comment

Pari: So today in school one of my friends said their parents voted for Trump and asked me who you voted for and I said you’ll voted for Biden – Harris

Me: Cool.

Pari: Another friend talked about how Trump was a better leader and Biden raised taxes. So I mentioned Biden did a good job with the vaccine.

Me: What a fabulous conversation.

Pari: So mama, is Biden a bad President or do leaders make different choices. Like say capitalism and communism. Both have bad things. Both have good things.

Me: Exactly Pari. So as you know the United States is a democracy. That means we have the right to make an informed decision on who we elect as our leader. This year your father and I made a choice based on what we felt was best. That may not be the choice another person made and that’s totally okay.

Pari: So is Biden a bad leader ?

Me: I don’t believe so. But any leader can make bad decisions. His handling of Afghanistan was a mess but there are things he is doing well. But here is something you must remember. In the future I don’t want you getting into an argument or debate on which is a better party with your school friends. Here is why.

  1. You’re not old enough to vote
  2. You’re not old enough to know enough about either parties or either leaders to make an intelligent decision that can affect the country, yet.
  3. Once you’re older, and read and understand more, and are eligible to vote, you will make your choice based on what you think is the right decision.
  4. That decision may or may not concur with ours and that is totally okay.

Pari: So I can always be friends with someone who voted differently from me, right?

Me: Always and forever. That is the most beautiful thing about democracy, everyone has a voice.

Pari: So can I say vote a leader in say one party and then next time may feel another leader of a different party is a better choice.

Neel/ Me: Absolutely. I sincerely hope you vote for a leader for what they are and not the party they belong to.

Pari: There are good and bad leaders in either party right?

Neel/ Me: Of course. That’s very natural. No political system is perfect is it? There are always things that work and things that don’t.

Pari: Thank you mama for understanding our conversation.

Me: I hope you continue to share such things at home. But what is non negotiable in all this , no matter who votes for whom or doesn’t, is respect. You always always treat people with respect. Our choices can be different and they should be. But no matter who they are black, white, brown, gay, lesbian …

Pari: or transgender …

Me: or transgender, or any faith , we respect the person.

Pari: (big smile )

Neel and I : ( bigger smiles)

I have a lot of hope for the world we will leave behind… a lot of hope.

❤️💙❤️💙

PS: and yes, we are still working on out Halloween costume. That too is non-negotiable 🤣🤣❤️❤️

Author: Yours Truly, Pritha

Professionally have I OD'd on OD ( organizational development ) for over a decade and more . Personally, I am all about making the mundane a wee bit more meaningful and of course a lot more fun in the process. In the course, of course, I very often fall flat on my face, but the joy of getting up makes it worth the "trip" ! Visit, explore, and do write back what you thought, and why you will come back again or never ever; either way I am grateful you dropped by ! Am quite a scatterbrain which is synonymous with being a Saggittarian, so don't take me too seriously; I try not to :) on most of my sensible days. On "other" days, I have more than enough very very well meaning well wishers, who do that for me and land me safely back to earth ! What would I do without them I wonder ? And then I pause, and I often ponder. For all the times I haven't let them be, How on earth would they feel, they were saner than me? Arguably and not so humbly yours... Pritha PS: And yes.. a new mom at 41 is my new identity and I am writing a new chapter with my little girl one gurgle at a time...

Leave a comment