Pritha's pomes

Some rhyme, romance and a wee bit reason maybe, bear with me ?

…can we promise each other this ?

Leave a comment

It’s a long road ahead that you and I will #walk.
We may or may not match our stride.

We may never ever cross paths.
But if we ever do, and if our #masks still hide our #smiles,

…can we #promise each other this ?

We shall not turn away our eyes in #guilt.
We shall not lower them in #fear.

We will remind ourselves that, while #anger and #sorrow have no #color,

Love makes up for them in a million hues.

We will accept that #acceptance is hard, and #forgetting isn’t easy,
But deep within we will #believe, to #forgive isn’t just #divine, it’s also the best anti-depressant.

The road ahead will be traversed by many like us.
And also by many more, unlike us.

It will be trudged slowly, by those, whose #wounds are deeper than ours,
Who are #weary, whose #hearts need to #heal, and whose #minds need to #rest.

Maybe, just maybe if we kept our promise, we may be able to make it a little easier for them?
Maybe we #slow down for a few who need the #kindness, and #run with those who want to be #free ?

Aren’t we all a little bit selfish, to want to be remembered for the right reasons?

It’s a long road ahead that you and I will walk.
We may or may not match our stride.

We may never ever cross paths.
But if we ever do, and if our masks still hide our smiles,

…can we promise each other this ?

[ …can we promise each other this ? (c) P.L June 1st, 2020 ]

Author: Yours Truly, Pritha

Professionally have I OD'd on OD ( organizational development ) for over a decade and more . Personally, I am all about making the mundane a wee bit more meaningful and of course a lot more fun in the process. In the course, of course, I very often fall flat on my face, but the joy of getting up makes it worth the "trip" ! Visit, explore, and do write back what you thought, and why you will come back again or never ever; either way I am grateful you dropped by ! Am quite a scatterbrain which is synonymous with being a Saggittarian, so don't take me too seriously; I try not to :) on most of my sensible days. On "other" days, I have more than enough very very well meaning well wishers, who do that for me and land me safely back to earth ! What would I do without them I wonder ? And then I pause, and I often ponder. For all the times I haven't let them be, How on earth would they feel, they were saner than me? Arguably and not so humbly yours... Pritha PS: And yes.. a new mom at 41 is my new identity and I am writing a new chapter with my little girl one gurgle at a time...

Leave a comment